The Fishermen’s Nets Repairer

When your job is more than a passion it’s impossible to stop even because of age. That’s what happened at Salvatore, he worked all his life as a sailor man and now at more than 80 years old, too old to be boarded on a ship, he walks every morning helped by his cane through the village to his dark and fresh cellar,  where he fixes fisherman’s nets. With the only company of the radio’s music he sits there during hours repairing, assembling, reinforcing fishermen’s nets.  He’s one of the last persons in the village that still has the knowledge of how to knit a net, as I was taking the photos, he explained to me, he even asked me if I wanted to try, but the apparently simple gestures he showed me, were in reality far too complicated to repeat, I was better in taking pictures.  What is certain is that I will never forget him, and each time I’ll look at the piece of net hanging on my study wall that that morning he cut for me and offered me as souvenir, I’ll remember the most important lesson he gave me. It isn’t how to repair a net, but it’s  his passion and his patience, it’s NEVER ABANDON YOUR DREAMS, but continue pursuing them, because age is not an excuse, be faithful and LIVE YOUR PASSIONS.

PLEASE FIND ALL THE REPORTAGE PHOTOGRAPHIES HERE.

olold man portrait lucy j hamilton

Leave a comment